The cutting knife

Seriousness: that which is of importance, grave, critical, or somber (dictionary.com).  In order to make my writing become something of critical importance, I have prioritzed at least thirty minutes each day to do something writing related.  Tonight I sifted through old poems and placed them into two categories: tripe, and worth fixin’.  I didn’t realize I had so much of the 1st category and not enough of the 2nd.  I guess I need to get busy! 

Here is an example of sonnet I think is worth fixin’:

 

July 21, 2000

 

Oh ye of the night, be not ‘fraid of the light.

For it defines the darkness you live.

Oh ye of the light, be not ‘fraid of the night,

for even unto moon the sun must give.

 

Antithesis: day, night; sun and moon light.

Each gives definition to its host.

To each other’s light one must never spite

if another prefers the other the most.

 

For the sunlight gives way to the night.

And this for one person is sublime.

Yet the night will give way to sunlight.

And for ‘nother person is the right time.

 

From dusk to dawn to dawn to gentle night.

Everything begins and ends with the light.

 

Stanza one and the final couplet are not too shabby.  However, there are issues with the number of syllables per line (not to mention that it is *not* iambic pentameter).  AND the rhyme scheme in stanza two is somewhat lacking. I want a beta reader; editing my own work is difficult.  I have left this poem to stew for a very long time (11 1/2 years) and it still needs much polishing. 

Even if I were to fix these issues, I doubt I could publish it standalone. I still need to pair this with more sonnets or write prose to accompany it.   My initial though upon rereading this poem was the current polarized nation.  Regardless of the route I take, I need to get crackin’!

Leave a Reply

