Six Cube

In the mode of T.S. Eliot’s “The Wasteland,” I am writing my own epic poem.  To do this I created my own meter and rhyme scheme:

For now it is titled, “alpha,” and it is very much a work in progress.  I only have 2 six quatres completed.  Ha, at this rate it will be a life time’s work.  I not even sure I classify it as “worth fixin.”

Anyway, I often use just the first part, or the “six cube” as a type of sonnet.  Here is an example:

I.
A.
1.

Enter in my own world
where man does not exist;
Enter in my own land
where goodness doesn’t resist.
Ye, by my very hand,
a tale I will unfold:

A tale of future time
heard only in the hearts
of the future people.
Yet, every story starts
with a simple staple
in the creator’s mind.

This truth comes together
right now- in the present;
For in the now, the past
echoes a small descent
in future; it is last
and first, but neither.

Only with the present
can the future be formed.
But this future lacks man,
yet it is not forlorn;
Although there be a ban
no person can resent

A fair future story.
Instead of man roaming
throughout the whole wide Earth,
Familiar wind is moaning
about a better birth
into golden glory:

A beautiful creature
all wrapped in mystery,
empowered by heaven
now part of history.
Yet, this is engraven
in another feature.

Leave a Reply

